Some Rigging Experimentation

I have the balanced lugsail set up with parrell beads, a snap and I run the halyard through an eye mounted 40% of the length of the yard from the leading end. I’ve been thinking that it has a bit of lee helm so I decided to try some experiments using Dave Nichols’ The Working Guide to Traditional Small-Boat Sails as a guide.

I took the beads and snap off the halyard and tied the halyard to the yard closer to the lead end using a clove hitch. I then added a rope tied to the yard to act as a parrell using a Rolling Hitch at each end of the rope.
I tried it out and it seems to work fine although I think I have everything set up a bit too far forward. Next time I have the boat out I’ll move the halyard and parrell further aft to see how that works.

DSC_3054

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

