Saturday September 19th, 2009 – Gido

On Saturday, Patty’s Dad, Ed, was visiting us from Yorkton and I headed out to the lake with the boys and Gido (Grampa in Ukrainian). Went down and got the boat organized, helped Gido aboard and away we sailed…like a herd of turtles.

Ed, who is 82 years old now, had never been in a sailboat in his life before and I think he thought it was pretty neat judging from the grin on his face. There’s always something new!

DSC_4059

DSC_4060

DSC_4078

The winds piped up pretty quickly and were gusty and squirrelly all day. I was pretty nervous about dumping the boat with Gido aboard as I’d never get him back in. We spotted my old friend JRE fishing down near the park boat launch so I decided to head over and see whether he was catching anything or not. As we got closer, I reached into the cooler and grabbed a Sleeman’s I’d put in there to give JRE if we saw him out there. As it was “Talk Like A Pirate Day” and Hunter had his Nerf sword Hunter started yelling “Prepare to be boarded you scurvy dog, etc.” as we approached and I yelled at JRE we had something for him and to go to the bow of his boat. As we scooted by, Gido passed him the beer and we sailed away, making plans for him to brave going out sailing with me.

After a while the boys were getting a bit bored so I dropped them off at the main beach and Gido and I carried on for a while. (I found out later that Cameron helped JRE’s sister carry a big bag of fish guts to the garbage as one of the things he did after getting dropped off – sounds way more fun than sailing lol)

We headed in and Gido was enjoying a cool one and JRE came by after a few minutes and we went out for another sail. By now the winds were really quite strong in the gusts and absolutely impossible to read at times so I was fairly nervous. We were flying across the water at times but I didn’t like the unpredictability of the winds so we headed in sooner than I would have liked but we had a great visit sitting on the dock and chilling out. Cameron and I were laying back against the tube, JRE and Gido in chairs having a cool one and we had some laughs. Absolutely fantastic day…it was +29 on our thermometer and they set records in Saskatoon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

