Floorboards and Cockpit Organizer

In the latest edition of “Small Boats” by Wooden Boat magazine there were several pictures of Chris Cunningham’s Caledonia Yawl floorboards that raised into a sleeping platform. With the Perseids meteor shower coming up and wanting to take the family out in comfort to watch them I started working on making some floorboards in early August. I had also decided that I needed some sort of organizer to hold drinks, sunglasses, cameras, sunscreen, etc. so I worked on that at the same time.

The floorboards were made from 1 x 6 mahogany purchased finished on all four sides. I used Douglas fir for the cleats mounted on the seat supports. Four 5/16″ bolts on each cleat with heads recessed using a Forstner bit.

The organizer was made with mahogany as well and a piece of plexiglass salvaged from an old golf cart windshield that was given to me by my old friend Terry who had it in his shop.

I had some great help from a couple of little neighbour girls and finished everything the morning of August 12th. We drove out to the lake, got the boat in the water and I then used a couple of fold-up foam beds the boys use for sleep-overs to turn the cockpit into a big bed. Add pillows and quilts and we were ready to motor to the far side of the lake and drop anchor to watch the meteor shower.

Not much of a light show as the extremely bright full moon allowed us to see only the brightest meteors but it was a great time out there in the moonlight with the boys. On the way back Patty and the boys all fell asleep. It was like a dream using the outboard to head back to the cabin in the soft moonlight. Like steering a bed across the water.

The next couple of days I came to absolutely love the floorboards in the raised position. It just seemed to make the cockpit more usable when crowded with a couple of adults, 2 kids and 2 small dogs.

Here are some photos….



The dogs seemed to like being able to sprawl out.

Always nice to be able to drop anchor and go for a swim with Stella and Rowie, twin grand-daughters of old friends of mine that live at the lake.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Floorboards and Cockpit Organizer

  1. Stan Best

    The Floorboards are great. I would like to see more pictures of same. How did you do the corners? Fantastic job. I want to do the same for my boat.

    Stan Best
    Shreveport Louisiana

    • Murray Stevens

      Hi Stan, Thanks for the compliment. I am really happy with the floorboards as well. I don’t quite know what you mean by how I did the corners. If you could clarify that for me I’ll be glad to take pictures, etc. to help you out.

      Cheers,

      Murray

  2. Heather

    Hi I’m Heather! Please email me when you get a chance, I have a question about your blog! LifesABanquet1(at)gmail.com

Leave a Reply

